Glamp in the area that inspired Tolkien's Middle Earth

Fans of JRR Tolkien's The Hobbit and The Lord of the Rings trilogy will already know that many of his famous landscapes were based on the places he lived in and visited and it was during the Second World War, between 1941 to 1944, that he wrote some of the most dramatic chapters.

tolkein-trail-map.jpg

Take the Tolkein Trail

- Hobbit Hill

While there are many rural areas of Britain that can lay claim to potentially being the inspiration for The Shire, the home of The Hobbits, it was while visiting his son John at school in Lancashire that Tolkien was caught by the beautiful local countryside, wooded landscapes and walks around the Rivers Ribble, Hodder and Calder.

And so it's no surprise that Lancashire's new glamping site, Hobbit Hill, has continued to set the scene for happy travellers who would like to immerse themselves in the culture of the area.

20180304_095345.jpg

A Hobbit hole?

- Hobbit Hill

Familiar names in the Lord of Rings, Shire Lane in Hurst Green and the River Shirebourne form part of the famous Tolkien Trail that visitors can follow from nearby Hurst Green while staying in a luxury cabin which is overlooked by Pendle Hill, famous for 16th and 17th century stories about witches, black magic and sorcery which surely acted as a catalyst for the imagery of the Misty Mountains or the Lonely Mountain itself.

Looking out over the green pastures and rolling hills of Middle Earth, the site opened in February and is already proving popular.

Operations Manager Francesca McKeown said: "Before we opened we had bookings from a range of people who love the location and the amazing views over the River Ribble below.

"We also have weddings and events organisers who are already promoting this venue as one of their best sites."

fe14153c-5b43-4d9f-9193-bcd779647454.JPG

Visit The Shire

- Hobbit Hill

The cabins sleep two to five people and are decked out with comfy beds, kitchen appliances and amenities to ensure you can feast like a Hobbit while you're staying.

There are many local restaurants, pubs and a variety of attractions and historic sites in the area, including the Forest of Bowland AONB.

Accommodation rates start from £75 per night and you can follow Hobbit Hill on Facebook for seasonal offers and discounts.

Megan is the owner of Rural Roots PR & Journalism, specialising in rural tourism, where her passion for travel, heritage and a great visitor experience inspired her to start 'The Rural Travel Guide'.

Follow her on Instagram and Twitter.